HAWKEN servers are up and our latest minor update is live!
Forgot Password_ SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

New to FPSes, and increasingly stressed over the game

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 clearblu3

clearblu3

• Full Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted July 21 2014 - 05:26 PM

I apologise if this post is a little long, but I'm new to online FPS games (usually a RPG gamer) and I've been finding the KDR value really stressful. So I wanted to ask: how important is it_
Originally I really liked the concept of the Predator, but found myself not contributing to the team (because I am fuzzy bunny in it). Then I swapped over to the technician and it's been amazing. I love playing it, and the it's created some really fun moments. Defending the AA with a C-class, for one, or providing the healing and damage increase (from the redox) to just keep my teammate alive through a fight he/she was originally losing.

The "problem" is that while on the pred my kdr was positive, now it's below one and still dropping. Maybe it's the RPG mindset where the player is "expected" to beat the game, but I'm actually pretty stressed about it. I've increasingly been making just plain stupid plays in an attempt to get at least one or two kills to "balance out" deaths.

So yeah - I'm new to the game and FPSes in general, and thanks to anyone who took the time to read this ^^

#2 bkcat1

bkcat1

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • LocationOuter space, destroying worlds

Posted July 21 2014 - 06:21 PM

I know the numbers can be stressful when you watch them drop, but as a new HAWKEN player (and a new FPS player), I would do my best to ignore them for now. Just play the mechs that you like and have fun. (Although, the predator is one of the hardest mechs to use, and the technician is not built for getting kills...).