HAWKEN servers are up and our latest minor update is live!
Forgot Password_ SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

Playing Hawken: First Impessions

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 LastProtagonist

LastProtagonist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted November 08 2012 - 07:17 PM

Hello. I'm a newbie here; in fact, I hadn't even heard of Hawken until yesterday. I knew next to nothing about Hawken before playing it...other than it was based on the Unreal Engine and that it features mech warfare. That's it. Nothing else.

I downloaded the game today and proceeded to adjust my settings, looked at the keybindings to get a general idea of things (glad I did that!) One thing I noticed was that the main menu used a lot of graphical resources--a lot more than I think is necessary since it doesn't seem like much is going on. It had my laptop's GPU up to 80º Celsius...not something I like to see when all I'm doing is looking at the menu screen. Granted, my GPU is a little outdated now (a GTX 260M,) I'd just prefer my GPU being able to take a "break" between matches, so to speak, but that's not really a big deal.

Onto my play experience: I browsed the menu, but the only two accessible tabs were Garage and Deploy. I was a little disappointed to not see a Tutorial, Help, or Training Tab. I checked out the garage for a bit, but I didn't really understand too much of anything. Rather than have a wrench icon, I would have preferred first clicking on my mech slot, and then clicking a specific button to either choose my weapon, or upgrade my mech. I didn't notice the "mech shop" tab at first, and I tried to click one of the empty slots to see if I could purchase another mech, or at least see some kind of shop. I would suggest implementing this feature as it feels more intuitive than browsing through the shop. I actually thought there would be a shop tab in the main menu and was surprised to not see one.