HAWKEN servers are up and our latest minor update is live!
Forgot Password_ SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

How to play hawken on linux.

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Tiggum

Tiggum

• Full Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted May 09 2013 - 07:51 PM

EDIT 5JUL2014: As of todays date this guide should be fully functioning

Hi all, I just started playing Hawken and it kind of irked me that they didn't have a version for Linux so I decided to see what i could do and the results are satisfying.

I use PlayOnLinux mainly because it makes my life easier, if you want the more direct wine guide PM and i'll tell you what you need to get it running because i'm lazy and i don't want to type two separate guides.

1. First things first, we need to get to download a patched version of wine through POL. TO do that you need to go to Tools > Manage Wine Versions > Wine Versions (x86) > 1.7.14-imm33_bug35361

2. Next you need to go to Install and install steam seeing as hawken no longer uses its own launcher.

3. Follow through the installation guide for steam and following its instructions.

4. Now we need to configure the wine install to actually play the game properly. To do that you need to go to Configure > Steam > Install Components.

5. From the list go ahead and install these components.
  • d3dx10
  • d3dx11
  • d3dx9_36
  • d3dx9_43
  • physx
  • xact
6. Click the Wine tab and then press the Configure Wine button to open a small window. This lets make some last minute optimizations.

7. Under the Applications Tab go ahead and change the windows version to Windows 7. Then under the Graphics Tab go ahead and check the 1st and 4th boxes. The screen resolution box should stop being grayed out. Go ahead and place your desktop resolution in those boxes and then exit out of the configuration. Mine for example would be 1920 x 1200.

8. Now go back to the general tab and select 1.7.14-imm33_bug35361 as your appropriate wine.