HAWKEN servers are up and our latest minor update is live!
Forgot Password_ SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

Good starter mech_

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 IIINobleIII

IIINobleIII

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted March 19 2014 - 07:11 PM

Hello! I barely got into Hawken! (So, I could say i'm a noob or starter!) Any ways, I looked around and researched about, I never found a good starting mech. I don't want to buy a random mech and later on hate it, so I decided to contact you guys on it. My question: What is a good starting mech or a good mech to later buy with money_ (I am the type of person who likes speed and firepower over defense and other things.)

-Thanks and Cheers! :D  

#2 Coboxite

Coboxite

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts
  • LocationHell

Posted March 19 2014 - 07:20 PM

The one everyone gets to start with is a good one for starters.
Brawler and Vanguard are also good starters. If you want a little more mobility, then Assault and Berserker are also good.

#3 WarlordZ

WarlordZ

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 933 posts

Posted March 19 2014 - 07:43 PM

Based on your preferences, I recommend scout or berserker:

The scout is our speedy shotgun mech.  The damage output at close range is pretty high, but it's quite fragile.  Be quick or die horribly.
The berserker is a fast flying mech with mid-range weaponry and a damage boost special ability.  Also the toughest light mech.

They're both good for a new player.  Easy to learn, hard to master.  Avoid the brawler, its speed is sloth-like.  It can be a good mech, but you probably won't like it.

#4 timestandstill

timestandstill

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • LocationUS

Posted March 20 2014 - 03:41 AM

The one you start with is excellent right off the bat. If I could do things over I'd play with the CR-T most of the time and try others out via test drives.