HAWKEN servers are up and our latest minor update is live!
Forgot Password_ SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

What mech should I get_

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 UniverseBear

UniverseBear

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted September 14 2014 - 07:04 AM

So I started playing this game and have been loving it. I've picked up on the game mechanics pretty damn fast and have been rocking the fuzzy bunny out of people in my box mech. Now I'm nearing enough HC to be able to purchase most mechs in the game and am wondering what mech I should get. I'm definitely going to keep the box mech and deck it out but I also want to have some different playstyles available. Right now I'm thinking I want to get into people's faces and fight close ranged.
I'm currently debating between the Scout and the Raider. The scout has the TOW which I know and love and the idea of a shotgun like gun fills me with good feelings. The Raider has the Corsair which doesn't seem bad but I just don't know how it will perform as I've never used it. The raider's prestige gun doesn't seem like what I want in a mech but neither does the scout's prestige gun. I'd feel that I'd rather use the various flak guns.

Bascally I want to get up close, dodge around the enemy and blow him up. I mostly play deathmatch.

#2 BurnsHot

BurnsHot

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • LocationEmpire of the Sun

Posted September 14 2014 - 07:26 AM

View PostUniverseBear, on September 14 2014 - 07:04 AM, said:

Bascally I want to get up close, dodge around the enemy and blow him up. I mostly play deathmatch.

Scouts seem to Dominate in Deathmatch.  They have a low health pool so you can and will die easily so it will take you time to learn how to play.  Don't get discouraged and have fun.  

Raider has its other uses and advantages too so either of them are not bad choices

#3 CapAllan

CapAllan

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts