HAWKEN servers are up and our latest minor update is live!
Forgot Password_ SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

Predator - Hunter or Hunted_

• Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1 Aindreas

Aindreas

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • LocationOn the Internet

Posted March 26 2014 - 03:52 AM

After skimming through the forum, I've come across several topics covering the Predator. Now, before I dive into my own topic, I just wanna let you guys know that I'm new to the game. Not complete freshman though, as I have purchased several other mechs so I can actually get a sense of different play styles.

Okay. Let's jump to the main point: Is Predator the hunter or the hunted_
IMHO, Predator seriously needs a buff. Yes, you might as well have heard this elsewhere. However, I'm gonna go into details why a buff is desperately needed.
As a "defensive" player, I always seek the play style that suits me. Predator sounds cool to me. You know, all those cloaking and shoving spikes up arses. However, Predator is a complete failure to my expectation of a being a sneaky bastard. Why_

1. Stalker Mode: is not "perfected." Of course, if it was perfected then I would not be writing this topic. However, I feel that the Predator's special ability could have been done better. The shimmer while cloaking is too visible, and you get even more visible while moving, not to mention how vulnerable you are despite still being cloaked.
2. Weapons: are ridiculously useless to the hands of an ambush vehicle. Take Infiltrator for example. It has Assault Rifle and Grenade Launcher that can deal tons of damage and can finish of a full health medium mech from behind fairly easily, whereas Predator's charged Breacher can only damage a light mech which ends up running away. If the target you're picking on is already damaged then it's easy to finish him off, but that's not always the case.