HAWKEN servers are up and our latest minor update is live!
Forgot Password_ SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

Tutorial: Setting Higher Performance for Nvidia Graphics Cards In Hawken

• Please log in to reply
95 replies to this topic

#41 Cpt_Kill_Jack

Cpt_Kill_Jack

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,651 posts
  • LocationCastle Rock, CO

Posted March 12 2013 - 05:49 AM

View PostCrushly, on March 11 2013 - 09:44 PM, said:

Hi Cpt_Kill_Jack. I have several questions and hope you bear with me as I'm new to info about video cards. A few days ago I upgraded to a GeFORCE GT 630 video card along with 16GB of RAM, a ViewSonic VX2253 HDMI 1080p monitor and two 3.0 USB ports. The original integrated video card is still installed.

Should I update the drivers anyway using your clean install instructions_ Also, is there a conflict by leaving the original integrated video card installed_ I haven't checked to see if it can be removed, What if I want to use more than one monitor_ If the original video card is left installed would it be better to use the original for  a VGA monitor instead of the new (GT 630) dedicated one_

Hello Well lets start out with something here that has me. You have a GT 630 with is the 3rd from the bottom card in the Nvidia lineup. Also for Hawken as a game the recommended Minimum is a 9800 which happens to have almost 100 more shaders than your 630. Although the 630 is a newer card than the 9800 the actually power of the card is pretty bad in comparison. Now the 630 is probably better than your integrated card but its not really anything for gaming. As for VLC and that I really dont know. I dont use the program and I just use WMP with my Codecs. If you want more than one monitor I would suggest running them off the 630 but it will cut your performance in any game. That 630 is the equivalent of an integrated laptop GPU at this point. Its an extreme entry level card.

#42 Cpt_Kill_Jack

Cpt_Kill_Jack

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip