HAWKEN servers are up and our latest minor update is live!
Forgot Password_ SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

The visual model of each mech

• Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#1 RyanLongbow

RyanLongbow

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted June 27 2013 - 05:41 PM

Hello,

I just started playing this game. I love the gameplay really really a lot.

The map: VISUALLY impressive and detailed, very dynamic with a lot of flanking routes. That is awesome. Top notch.

One real TURN OFF: the MECH 3D models. They are a SORE-EYES.

They simply do not match up with the map visual style. They are like a stranded group of aliens on the world of a different civilization.

#2 Leonhardt

Leonhardt

Rawr

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,820 posts
  • LocationFlorida

Posted June 27 2013 - 05:45 PM

I implore you to read a little more into the lore behind Hawken so that you can understand why the mechs look as they do. I have grown to love how the mechs (junk bots really) are designed, but at first I had a hard time understanding why they seemed so patched together.

Edited by Leonhardt, June 27 2013 - 05:45 PM.

Posted Image

#3 GodsHolyMember

GodsHolyMember

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 611 posts

Posted June 27 2013 - 06:03 PM

I like the utilitarian look of the mechs actually, in fact the more utilitarian the better.  And there's nothing about military hardware that resembles the architectural style of an era.  Were rifles and tanks art-deco during WWI or WWII_  No, they were brutal machines of war and instruments of death that needed to be rapidly mass produced and effective at their intended purpose.

I intensely dislike most styles of anime-mechs because they more often than not incorporate completely useless gear and accoutrament that clearly have no strategic value or functional relevance.