HAWKEN servers are up and our latest minor update is live!
Forgot Password_ SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

HAWKEN Tips and Tricks Thread

Beta Community Game

• Please log in to reply
224 replies to this topic

#201 USMC_Karl

USMC_Karl

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationSeoul, South Korea

Posted September 29 2013 - 09:49 PM

Thanks for the awesome thread, Arnie.  You're the best!

I'm not sure if this has been touched on before (I looked in the OP and checked, but you don't have a whole lot listed for individual mechs so...) but I figured this might help out some of the newer folks like myself.

The CR-T Recruit is actually a very flexible mech.  I started playing this game a couple days ago and have been using it pretty much exclusively.  I'd imagine that it gets overlooked quite a lot for the more... flashy mechs.  People unlock their Berserker or Rocketeer or whatever and think "Hey man, fuzzy bunny this starter mech" and jump ship.

My suggestion is, don't do that!  The CRT is pretty much serviceable in any engagement range.  It doesn't really shine anywhere, but you can use it in almost any situation and contribute.  I think the CRT also serves another purpose, since it doesn't really shine and can be somewhat disadvantaged by the more focused mechs (try taking on a Brawler or Berserker 1-on-1) it drives home the necessity for team-work.  If you come across a heavy with the CRT alone you should probably disengage, but if there are two CRTs and you come across a heavy, well it's stomping time.  Keeping yourself in the CRT helps you build up good, basic skills that will serve you well in any of the mechs.