HAWKEN servers are up and our latest minor update is live!
Forgot Password_ SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

Who are you and why are you so awesome_

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
232 replies to this topic

#101 ingway

ingway

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationShreveport, LA

Posted February 09 2012 - 06:41 PM

ingway here - good to meet you all. great to see the community coming together already.

a little about me.

my handle is a bastardization of Yngwie Malmsteen ... a rather talented if overly gaudy guitarist. when i was a teenager and just out of the house - i got a subscription to High Times, a pro-marijuana magazine ... but was paranoid enough to come up with a false identity for plausible deniability. I've since dropped the subscription but kept the handle (as well as the weed) and have maintained if for well over a decade.

I've been involved in a plethora of BETA testing ... everything from obscure games to mainstream games for years. My first beta testing experience in 2001 was Battletech 3025 and it really snowballed from there. My most recent BETA involvement has been with Star Wars and currently Diablo III.

I'm a host for a local gaming community which is just starting to pick up, but it's always a lot of fun. Mostly just catering to the bar-going console gamers, but regardless it's a reason to get out of house once a week and annoy the shit out our local redneck population.

While I do support gaming in all forms I'm primarily a PC gamer and have been since i made the transition from Super Nintendo to DOS. In my heart of hearts I feel console gaming has caused a severe backlash in the direction of gaming ... showing more emphasis on hype over creative new game play or evolution of abilities due to lack of capability with current gen consoles. However, this also means I support a minority of the gaming market and my opinion is initially squelched in that respect.